Menu

Talk Orthodontics to me, Please

momacacia

I need a quick primer. Taking dd11 and dd7 to a new dentist who also has an ortho practice. I have a friend who loves this dentist/ortho and her practice and we need a new dentist anyway. She evidently does a good bit of "fixing" what other ortho's have gotten wrong and helping people after face/mouth accidents, etc.

What should I ask about? Obviously looking at this more for dd11, but I'm completely new to the new orthodontics. Anyone have good experiences with FastBraces? Invisalign? Enlighten me. What should I know and find out?

TIA!

I hear a lot here about two stage orthodontics.  If that is offered, I would get second and third opinions about whether it is medically/aesthetically necessary before all the adult teeth are in.  I'm sure that there are cases where it is, but there seems to be an awful lot of it about, as opposed to a more wait-and-see attitude.

FWIW, Calvin had traditional train track braces.  Hobbes had twin blocks followed by train tracks, in order to bring his lower jaw forward.

Edited by Laura Corin
  • Like 1

Ask them what rate of their patients need treatment again when they're older, and before you agree to any treatment, get a 2nd opinion.

There is a range of acceptable practice for certain treatments and some orthos like to start treatment early but then those kids often need treatment again. Others just wait and do it all at once. Some conditions *do* require an earlier start but my sense was that some orthos push early treatment unnecessarily and the reality is that they make more money that way so there is a bit of an conflict.

My kids both had bite and mild crowding issues and they didn't go into braces until early/mid teens. Regular braces are cheaper and our team recommends them as they said they get the best results. They offer the other system and priced them all out but discouraged it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• Like 2