Menu

FAFSA forms online, do you file with estimates or wait?

Joules

This is my first year, so I'm trying to prepare for filling out my first FAFSA this weekend.  When I went to the site I discovered the pdf of the 16-17 form is available so I'm going to use it to start gathering everything I need.  I thought other newbies might want to take a look, too.

https://fafsa.ed.gov/fotw1617/pdf/PdfFafsa16-17.pdf

I've found drafts for the 1040 here:

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-dft/i1040gi--dft.pdf

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-dft/f1040--dft.pdf

The schools say to file right away.  I'm assuming estimates are fine.  Does anyone have advice to the contrary?  Am I going to mess things up if I don't get the numbers perfect on the first draft?

We filed with estimated numbers and were "picked" to have to go an extra step to give them some proof beyond just linking our actual return. It wasn't that complicated, and I can't remember all the details. I wasn't sure if they pick mostly first-time filers or people who estimate it wrong (which I did). I forgot the child tax credit, so my numbers were way off. 

I'm going to be so happy in April!  I'm working on my taxes now, putting estimates in for everything, and listing what paperwork I'm missing. I've kept good track of everything this year so I'm feel comfortable that my estimates tomorrow will be good.   I did the forecaster, so I'm not expecting any need-based aid, but it's required for merit aid, and it's one box that I can get checked (since I can't write the essays, or fill out the scholarship forms, or write the LORs).

So I got it mostly done with estimates, but I got stalled with putting the colleges in order.  It mentions that states use the information, so I did a search and got a little freaked that it might effect admissions decisions?!?  I'm thinking we might should wait until admissions information is in before I submit FAFSA.

I'm off to search the forum...