Menu

Share your best "classroom management" tips

I joke about the "classroom" part. But for reals. I have a degree in EE and took the classroom management classes. I only taught 2 years, but for a brand new teacher, I felt like I did a pretty good job with classroom management.

Yet, some (most?) days I can't get my own kids to sit still for 10 minutes for a read aloud. And I'm not talking about the 1 year old or the 4 year old, whose behavior is expected. I'm talking about the 6, 8 and 9 year olds. Kids, who in a regular school and church setting, behave themselves just fine.

Sometimes I wonder if the school setting provides a little more social pressure to behave oneself. You know? I think a lot of kids don't want to misbehave in front of their friends. Whereas, at home, the siblings aren't trying to impress each other. In fact, they rather delight in making one another squirm.

I realize a lot of it is normal. But it's also incredibly frustrating to me.  Our "morning meetings." which last all of 15-20 minutes, I find myself avoiding. And I try to engage the kids, let them pick the read aloud, sing songs, etc. But sometimes the silliness is just so draining.

So... if you have kids like mine, what do you do to help with the "management" so you can actually get stuff done?  How do you motivate them? 

Sometimes nothing works! 

I have twin boys (11) and we pretty much are doing classes, with me at the whiteboard teaching. I can now pretty much expect them to be still and take notes for about twenty minutes. They are also decent at being quiet while they are writing or while doing their work in math and Latin. To a point.

What I think works best is expecting feedback. It's less easy to get into a clowning mode when I'm going to pop you over the head with a question, KWIM?