Menu

Strange advantages of unemployment

If Husband doesn't manage to get a job (he's been unemployed for a year already) and I can't find a better job, the boys should come out of university with no debts. We have a college savings plan for them that will cover the fees (about £9,000 a year for three years) and their living expenses should be covered by government and university bursaries (scholarships for low income students).

Laura

It has been awhile since I was in school, but I got almost a full ride scholarship to one of the Seven Sisters because my Dad had lost his job about 18 months before I was a Freshman. If he had continued to make his middle class, government salary I never would have gotten such a great scholarship. Good to know that sometimes they really are silver linings.

What about an academic scholarship? Isn't that a possibility? It just seems more, I don't know, prestigious or advantageous to access an academic scholarship rather than one based on family finances.

There are very few academic scholarships because there are almost no universities that are not government funded, and the tradition is to support those from poor backgrounds, rather than those who are unusually bright. A few universities have some scholarships, but it's not the enormous opportunity that it is in the US.

Laura

What a bargain!

I remember the protests about that. In the US, there is very little protest and they keep rising!

Oxford, Cambridge and the like. They aren't privately funded institutions and the level of fees is very political, so they can't float free.

Laura

Oxford, Cambridge and the like. They aren't privately funded institutions and the level of fees is very political, so they can't float free.

Laura

Government funded schools such as state universities have continued to raise fees, slow graduation times, increase class size, and so on, with minimal "pushback." Education is apparently not an important political issue here. :glare: