Menu

Electives?

I'm sitting here knitting with my daughter and discussing sewing. She said she should get credit for knitting or sewing as a class.

We have no oversight in NJ so I can give her "credit" if I choose to.

Has anyone done a semester course like that?

I like the idea of it but I can't imagine putting on college transcript. Plus sometimes we have enough trouble just getting through math, science, etc.

Why not give her a home ec credit?

Agree. I'm old enough to have gone to a high school that required girls to have a home ec credit and boys had to take JROTC.

They did away with those strict requirements the year after I graduated and changed it to 2 years of any combination of home ec/JROTC/PE with a minimum of 1 year PE.

Cinder

Add in allowing her to menu plan, clean up the house for a week, cook meals and learn about balanced nutrition, and I'd say you have it.

You don't necessarily even have to do that. My sister took sewing classes in high school. I don't know what they were called, but probably some kind of home ec. If your dd does 120 hours of sewing/knitting over her high school career, I would give her a credit.

Edited by cathmom
typo

You don't necessarily even have to do that. My sister took sewing classes in high school. I don't know what they were called, but probably some kind of home ec. If your dd does 120 hours of sewing/knitting over her high school career, I would give her a credit.

I took sewing in high school, too, and I graduated in 2003, so it's still pretty currently offered in some high schools.

Okay, I have a reason NOT to give it (though I think it's perfectly fine to do so also).