Menu

Which phonics should I use for advanced 4 yo?

My son will be 5 in February and we are just about finished with 100 EZL. He is breezing through them and it is very easy for him. When I tried to test him on reading, he is almost at a 3rd grade level. This is my first year homeschooling and I am not sure how to approach this.

I have looked at ETC but I think it will be too easy for him and he doesn't need a workbook type program. I think he would rather just read. I also looked at Phonics Pathways which I think he could use some work on the blends and stuff like "ough, aw" etc sounds. And I was reading tonight, there was a suggestion for someone else to work backwards and work on spelling rather than phonics.

I am just struggling because we are doing K but don't know where to match him for his phonics.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jessica

I would think that if he had completed 100 EZ, you can just turn him loose with reading and not worry about additional phonics. But that's just my opinion...

:iagree:I'll ditto that from what I have heard about 100 EZ but I have never seen it (we do OPG)...when you listen to him read aloud to you and he makes a certain mistake repeatedly, you can go over that lesson with him again but other than that, in addition to the books he is reading for fun, I would get him books that coincide with what you are learning (ex. we were studying Antarctica and I found some easy readers that were about Antarctica - same with S. America)...

We're 100 EZ dropouts, but at the end of it I'd just do spelling and let him read. :001_smile:

:lol:

So are we!! But this time (with my 3rd) I am totally going to try to finish it. We'll see if I still feel that way in a few months. We're at lesson 15. I've never made it past 65.