Menu

AOPS Course Titles / Descriptions (7th Grade Son)

My rising 7th-grade son will probably start the AOPS Introduction to Algebra book in the fall.     I hope it is OK to post on the high school forum since he isn't technically a high school student, but I figure that this is where the experts hang out.  (smile)   

Some of the questions I have so far are...

1)  Are math courses taken in middle school typically recorded on the High School Transcript?  (I know I am probably going to get a lot of conflicting answers, but if anyone has any advice they want to share, I would love to hear it.)    I am wondering if I need to keep particular records for this class or write a course description (YIKES!) or do anything else?   

2)  If your child self-taught through an AOPS book, how did you calculate the grade?  What specific records do I need to keep?   Are there any suggested tests I should take this year to back up my assigned "mommy grades"?   

3)  Would anyone want to share their course titles/descriptions if you used the AOPS books for math?    For example, would I list the Intro to Algebra book as Algebra I?   What about non-standard AOPS math courses like Intro to Number Theory or Intro to Counting and Probability?   I will have to see how quickly he works through the book (obviously), but I am considering letting him complete just the first half of "Intro to Algebra" this year, and then focus on Number Theory or Probability.   Or, I may let him focus on contest prep.   

4)  Should I also keep records of other math stuff my son does in middle school?  (Mathcounts or other AOPS Contest prep courses for example)   Or does that not matter long term?    

I'm just trying to avoid any pitfalls or mistakes. 

Edited by TheAttachedMama

I did this for DS14 (9th grade) and so far the local community college and Stanford ULO didn’t complain. The superscript is for the course provider. I did not provide grades or description and they didn’t ask.

Grade Level