Menu

AP Music Theory

7 hours ago, RootAnn said:

One thing to think about is why that particular class? Music majors will likely not be able to get out of it via the AP score (from what I understand). I haven't had a kid take it, but I have seen others mention how tough it is.

He thinks he is interested in music technology / production as a college major, but he doesn't have a lot of music experience.  He has self taught himself a lot, but this sounds like it is way  more advanced than his knowledge. 

I'm trying to find a way to show him he needs more musical knowledge for this type of career, but I know NOTHING about what he needs to know, study, or what kind of talent he needs in order to study this. 

We thought this might be a way to legitimize his studying, but it sounds like it's way too advanced for him. 

Thanks for the feedback! 

My ds took this when he was in high school.  He was mostly homeschooled but took a couple classes at the public school.  He was allowed to study homeschool classes at the public high school if he wanted to.  It was an unusual arrangement.  We were able to talk a friend of ours -- who is the high school choir teacher -- into teaching this one-on-one to our ds at the public school.  The teacher had never taught AP music theory before and it was a challenge even for him.  Our ds had just a little music background.  He took piano lessons until 7th grade, and he was in some children's choirs and really enjoyed it.  He had a particular interest though in classical music and just really, really wanted to have a better understanding of the theory.  It was a tough class, but he loved it.  The teacher did too.  In fact, after that year, the teacher decided to make it an open class at the high school.  To this day I'm amazed that he agreed to take his study time between classes to work with our ds.  They didn't actually meet every day, but probably 2-3 days/week.  My ds did a lot of work on his own.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1