Menu

Gearing up for Nanowrimo

Petrichor

Are you planning to participate this year?

I logged into my account today. I've been a member on their website for 6 years now!

Sounds great, but I've never actually written anything! ? Hoping to change that this year. It's been hard for me to figure out where to start.

Edited by Petrichor
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I've been participating since 2012.  I love NaNoWriMo!  I never knew that I love to tell stories!

I am planning on participating but I'm sort of scared.  I'm a "pantser" not a "planner" but I usually at least know what style I want to try and maybe the setting or other basics.  This year I know *nothing*.

I'm also afraid that I'm not up to it this year because I am grieving. (Tmi removed in order to be brief)  It could end up pushing me over the edge or it could be a good push in the right direction.

I'm excited at the possibility of it being a push in the right direction!!

• Like 2

I am participating for the first time.  Not as prepared as I'd like to be but I needed to take a writing break recently because I just finished a children's book.  Now I want to force myself back into the writing in order to not allow other things to get in my way and allow me to make excuses

• Like 1

3 hours ago, StellaM said:

PS In a million years I could never write a novel! so I admire everyone who takes part and gives it a go. Good luck ?

I think that's the whole point of Nanowrimo, lol - that anyone can do it.

I have a ton of non-fiction I'd like to write up, and even double checked the dictionary to see if I could somehow twist the word "novel" to include a non-fiction curriculum-type book, but no dice. ?

I like that idea for a character-creating exercise, I'll have to (try to) try it. Motivation is everything, lol.

• Like 3

I participated for 10 years. I loved it and I miss it. I'm in grad school and pondering when I'm going to sleep, so Nanowrimo has taken a back seat.