Menu

Does anyone make their own worksheets?

Is there a particular program that you use to make them in? I'd like to make some worksheets for my kids to learn their Taekwon-do theory. There are definitions to learn, historical facts, longer memory pieces (like the student oath), etc.

If you made your own worksheets how did you do it?

I write my own out by hand.

I studied the handwriting instructions in WRTR and improved my handwriting enough that I am confident about it.

I often fold pieces of paper into squares, and sometimes I just tell the student what to write/draw in each square.

I went months without a printer and researched a lot of vintage, Principle Approach, TWTM 1st edition, and Waldorf methods, and I became a whole new teacher.

During the elementary years, I just hand-wrote in a spiral-bound notebook, which helped me limit the amount of work to just one page. Lots of spelling pages and working with words, but also handwriting pages, and then dictation pages similar to those in Sonlight. I would spend an hour or so on Sunday writing out worksheets for the following week while watching a movie or something on a DVD. ;)

PS -- ETA

The benefits were very much like what Hunter expressed above:

- very specifically targeting what each DS needed to learn / practice

- by writing it out, I was really "learning" it and very familiar with the next week's school work

- improved my own handwriting! :D

I've made some very simple ones with Word. They are usually tables for them to fill in. Otherwise, I give them a blank (or semi-blank) paper to write or draw on.

For memorization, we usually just use index cards.

I agree with others than when it's just for one kid, I usually just handwrite them into their notebooks.