Menu

Ds is Vitamin D deficient is 400IU really enough?

nitascool

I had my ds10 take a blood test to check for a B12 deficiency. His doctor did a wide screen deficiency blood test. I got his results back today. She didn't find a deficiency in B12 but said that his Vitamin D results were less then 5.

She suggested that he take 400I.U. with Vitamin C. That seems like a rather low dose for such a big deficiency. She suggested that the whole family take D and C. I take 5000I.U. every day and have been giving ds one of my Vitamins once a week. I told her this and she basically didn't believe that he is actually taking them... that maybe he is spitting them out when I'm not looking. I know this is not the case.

I'm not really sure what to do about this. I picked up some chewable 400IU D3 and 500mg C with Rose Hip for him. I'm thinking that I should at least double the D3. I'm not really sure though. Any suggestions.

Oh we live in the NE so there is very little sunlight.

I'm no expert, but I would say 400 is not enough. My bigger kids take 1000 IU D3, without measured deficiencies. They like these, which they say taste like candy :glare: ;). You might ask on the General board, and do a bunch of googling, but my inclination would be to supplement a severely deficient "older" kiddo starting at least at 2000 IU D3.

I don't think 400iu is enough but my son tested slightly low even after months of supplementing at 400iu. I'm currently giving him 2000iu a day. We use Carlson drops and there is 2000iu in one drop which make them easy to give. I used to give gummies but they really got expensive.

Thank you... I cross posted this on the General board. My son is Autistic, for some reason his Dr. has some preconceptions of Autistic children and assumes if one child did it all autistic children will. She doesn't seem to have very much experience with autism supplemental or alternative to Rx's. We are looking for a new Dr. but there are so few drs who are covered by our ins.