Menu

Does anyone NOT study grammar during the elementary years?

garddwr

We have so many things to study, I don't feel like we have time for separate grammar study. It seems to me that my children are immersed in rich language, and will pick up the structure of the language naturally. I don't think it will hurt them to wait to study formal grammar. What would be good reasons to study grammar early? If you have waited what was your experience?

Thanks!

Sarah

Well, I'm no expert:) but I do not/am not teaching grammar in the early years. Granted, by oldest is only in Kindergarten:D But, for me, as long as he is talking and narrating properly, then I don't find it necissary for my first grader to know any formal grammar rules. This year, without any formal teaching, he has learned that all sentences start with a capital letter, that a sentence conveys a complete thought, and that sentences end with a period, question mark or explanation mark. He's also learned what a semicolon, colon, and comma is. I do not plan to start formal grammar until between 3rd and 5th. At the same time, I have no doubt that he and his sisters will learn grammar info without it being taught formally.

This is something I have just run up against with my DS 11/ DD 9. I'm wishing I would have started formal Grammar earlier because we are running up against nouns, verbs, objects and subjects in our language studies (Greek and we'll be starting another language next year) and none of us have a good enough grasp of Grammar for this not to be an issue :blush: I even ran across a problem using the 5th grade Handwriting Without Tears book which dabbles in Grammar while practicing cursive.