Menu

Once a month cooking

Let's say you wanted to do...even twice a month cooking. Just...have things more on hand than not. Stick a casserole in the freezer instead of a frozen pizza.

How small of a freezer could you get away w/ for 6 people? I have a neighbor who manages, but I really can't fathom. Dh already calls me Mary Poppins for what I can fit in a freezer/car trunk. (Gosh, I sound like the mafia now.)

Anyway, thoughts?

It really depends on how you're going to freeze your items. I think one of the books I read suggested filling and flattening out gallon freezer bags. You could do quite a bit of spaghetti sauce, sloppy joes, etc. in that manner. I'm not experienced enough to help with the actual freezer size, though. Hope you get the answers you need!

I do the "flattened zip lock bag" thing and it works like a charm. It's like file folders full of food (wow, check out the unintentional alliteration :lol:). Anyway, you just stack them one on top of the other and it works great. You won't fit much else in the freezer for the first week or so, but other than that, I love it!

Diane W.

married for 22 years

homeschooling 3 kiddos for 16 years

I do the "flattened zip lock bag" thing and it works like a charm. It's like file folders full of food (wow, check out the unintentional alliteration :lol:). Anyway, you just stack them one on top of the other and it works great. You won't fit much else in the freezer for the first week or so, but other than that, I love it!

Wow - what a great idea for the deep freezer! Once they are frozen they can stand on end, and there's so much less digging!!!

I don't know the answer, but I'd make sure it was a newer, efficient model. An extra freezer could add on to electricity costs, and I've heard elect costs are high in the DFW area.