Menu

Has anyone taken a pottery making (on a wheel) class? **(UPDATE)**

Zebra

I could use some perspective from anyone who has BTDT.

I have wanted to take a pottery class for years, and I finally felt like I could try an 8 week class this fall.   My expectations were pretty realistic going in.   I expected to not make anything for awhile, I expected it to be hard and frustrating.   What I didn't expect was to be completely lost, really hate it, and not want to go back.

I am complete and total beginner.   The classes are combined levels, and I am literally the only beginner.  The classes are 3 hours long.  The first day we spent two hours going over other people's work, and then I got a studio tour and a presentation on making a basic bowl.  That left me less than an hour to try to do something, and clean up. My mind went completely blank when I was finally sitting at the wheel and had maybe 20 minutes to try something.   It didn't go well and then it was time for me to clean up so I could leave on time.  The teacher seemed surprised that I wasn't able to stay after, and told me I really needed to spend extra time to get the most out of the class.   I have no doubt he is right, but I have no extra time for this right now.  3 hours a week is a stretch for me right now.  They didn't tell me a lot of things before the class started, and this was one of them.  There should be a FAQ somewhere. 

Week 2 it took 90 minutes to look at student pieces, a lesson on trimming, and then another bowl demonstration just for me.   I haven't even made anything yet, so trimming was really lost on me.  Again, it was a good demonstration but it was just so much at once.  I tried to do some stuff, and the teacher kept coming over to help, and some classmates were nice to offer suggestions too, but again it was pretty frustrating.  I still do not have a firm grasp on what I should be doing.