Menu

PSA: Tell your dc about book buy-back pricing

klmama

I just found out that dc has not highlighted or made notes in textbooks this entire semester because of wanting them to be worth more when selling them back at the end.  *Sigh*  Apparently, we didn't discuss how little that would be, especially on the older edition texts the professors were so considerate to require.  Oh, well.  At least dc knows now, since next semester's courses will be more difficult.

• Like 1

I highly recommend renting books and buying the ones you will need later. I studied philosophy, so I could buy cheap, but for fields like biology that change all the time, I recommend renting for undergrad.

That's not to say NEVER buy a book, but rent first as you save much more, and then if you want to buy, it will be used when you buy it so you don't lose.

Although the thing I worry about with renting is something happening to the book and then I end up paying way more for it.  For example, the book for an upcoming class is $147 through the school.  Amazon rents it for $63, but to buy it from them is $245.  I assume if you damage the book or lose the book you end up paying the $245 which is a heck of a lot more than $147.

I highly recommend renting books and buying the ones you will need later. I studied philosophy, so I could buy cheap, but for fields like biology that change all the time, I recommend renting for undergrad.

That's not to say NEVER buy a book, but rent first as you save much more, and then if you want to buy, it will be used when you buy it so you don't lose.

That's great advice for when the class requires new books.  I was willing to consider renting, but all but one of dc's profs chose previous editions to help them save money.  Buying them used on Amazon instead of at the college bookstore saved us even more money, and the cost was less than the rental fees would have been.  I hope all the professors at this college got the "use older editions" memo!

• Like 2