Menu

Question for those who are familiar with France

I studied in France as an undergraduate, and then again as a graduate student, so I've been to many parts of France.  I will be taking the kids through France next summer.  We will be taking the Chunnel train from London to Paris, and then I need to get to my friends' house in Germany, near the Swiss border (Zurich area).  This will be the kids' first trip to France, so we will spend a few days in Paris, and then I'd like to spend a few days somewhere else in France that I've never seen before heading to Germany.

So, here are the places I've visited:

Paris- many times, seen a LOT

Tours and the Loire River Valley, including Chambord, Chenonceau, Amboise, Chinon, Saumur, Villandry, among other places in the region

Strasbourg and Colmar and other small towns in between

Clermont Ferrand and the Puy de Dome

Annecy and the surrounding area

Bordeaux

Nice, Marseille, and many, many locations along the Côte d'Azur, including Cannes and St. Tropez

Many Places in Provence, including Avignon, Arles, Nimes, Èze, Grasse, St. Paul de Vence.  I visited la Camargue and the Pont du Gard also.

My aunt and I took a week long road trip around the coast of Brittany and Normandy, stopping in Brest, Bayeux, the beaches, Mont St. Michel, among other things.

So, if you know France or have been somewhere in France I haven't mentioned, I'm hoping for suggestions of where to go and what to see. I'm thinking 2-3 days.

Thanks!

• Like 1

Just read your post in detail - you have been to a lot of places. :)

Your children might like to see Rheims, where the French kings were crowned.  You can tour the cathedral.

Have you been to Chartres?  There is a British guy there who "reads" the stained glass windows.  He is really fascinating. Once we took his morning tour, went to get lunch, and came back for his (different) afternoon tour.

• Like 2