Menu

Teacher Spends Two Days Shadowing Students….

umsami

Great article! I wish it would revolutionize teacher education and part of practicum would involve shadowing students. I'd love it if they had to go home and do all of their homework, too. We get so focused on the rigor in our own individual subject that we don't think about the big picture of their whole day.

When I was a student teacher (high school) my mentor had daughters in their teens. She had so much more sympathy and understanding for what a student's day was like. I learned so much from her and her girls.

I remember all that (from the 80s.) I remember being so tired of constantly taking in and never giving out. I used to think, "How do they expect us to possibly keep taking information in without ever actually using it or producing meaningful output? Don't they know it all falls out of our heads after another week of more information being stuffed into our brains?"

I couldn't wait to get a job so I could actually do something and not just sit there trying to absorb non-stop information day after day after day. I often felt like a saturated sponge and if one more thing was put in, something else was squeezed out. I've worried that I'm doing the same to my own kids (too much input, not enough output), but at least my guys can get up and dance about and interrupt me whenever they want for discussion.

This is one big reason I shifted my university classes to spend more time thinking about the material and less time working examples. Sometimes I get complaints about 'not enough examples before you expect us to think about it', but hey, you can't please everyone.