Menu

Job ideas for a stay at home mom of 23 years?

lisabees

I need a job. :)  And I need a job that will provide health insurance.  I have been a stay at home for 23 years and don't know where to begin.  My degree is in education - I can sub for a while, so that's good.  But, it is very difficult to find a contract position around here.  

Any ideas?!  

I work with employers all the time and am constantly looking at job openings on behalf of our clients.  Would you mind answering a few more questions?

• Do you want FT or PT (benefits will probably require at least 32 hrs. per week).
  • Do you need the job immediately or do you have flexibility to acquire some new skills?
  • Is your main concern access to health insurance or do you also need to make a lot of money?
  • Are you looking to create a new career or do you simply need a job that provides benefits?
  • What is your shift availability?
  • What size community do you live in? What industries are the major employers? 

Answers to these questions will help us think out of the box, but within your range of possibility.

As a stay at home mom, did you cultivate some skills that you can highlight on a resume? For example, did you do any volunteer work at non-profits? Your organizational skills for a co-op or academic team might be something to add to your resume--or lead to contacts that could be useful when applying for jobs.

Good luck!

Thanks all.  Yes, I have my certification in k-12, but it is not current.  I will have to research what I need to update it.  I am allowed to sub, though.

Jane, I volunteered for 8 years at a local non-profit and was VP on the Board of Directors for two.  I was actually being groomed to be director, but personal events changed my ability to stay there.  If I had a dream, it would be to work for a non-profit.  

Great news about Bath and Body and Starbucks.  I never would have considered them!  I always loved retail as a teen/young adult.