Menu

I need ideas for teaching note names of piano keys ...

Do you have any creative ideas or games I could use to teach the note names of the piano keys to my 6th, 4th, and 1st graders? I'm not talking about reading music yet, just that this note is a C and that on is a G#, etc. I am a musician myself, but I'm just plum out of ideas for teaching this!

Thanks! :)

For young kids, sometimes the piano tutor would stick the letter names onto the piano keyboard just for the plain note. The sharps and flats came later. My kids learnt the Do Re Mi sequence from the song "Do a deer, a female deer" from Sound of Music. Than they learn to "match" Do to C, Re to D and so on until Ti to B.

If you don't mind mess, a fun silly thing we did was to draw an octave of the piano keyboard using sidewalk chalk and have fun jumping from note to note.

There are a bunch of blogs and websites that have printable activities. I'm teaching at piano camp in a couple of weeks, so I've been collecting such links on the pinterest page I keep for my homeschool group.

http://pinterest.com/homememphis/music/

Here's a few that I have put aside for my primer class:

http://colorinmypiano.com/2012/11/20/printable-black-key-group-sorting-cards/

http://www.susanparadis.com/catalog.php?ID=SP235

There are a lot more on both these sites.