Menu

Question for sewers

I'm a very novice sewer but this winter I'd like to learn quilting and I want to make some dress up clothes for the kids from patterns. Do you think this would be a good starting machine? http://www.amazon.com/Brother-Affordable-60-Stitch-Computerized-Free-Arm/dp/B000JQM1DE/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pdT1_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=1RUGACZMEM75G&coliid=IOBS2WQW059NM

Looks similar to the machine I started with. Like you, I started with kids costumes and beginning quilting in mind. I didn't want to invest a lot of money for just "play sewing". I would suggest you check around and have a place in mind for yearly maintenance & if/when you have problems with it. Happy Sewing!!

I had that machine for about seven years, and it did serve me well. Usually, the suggestion is to look for a vintage machine with metal parts, but even those are often several hundred dollars and require time to find them. Ideally, yes, a machine should last more than seven years, but if the choice was between nothing and something like that Brother, I'd go for the Brother. It was a very good machine until it just wore out and wouldn't sew properly at all. It has a lot of stitches and features -- most of them I didn't use, but for quilting you would use more. I had two mild complaints about it. One is that it was very lightweight, and on the plastic table I have, it would walk some when sewing fast. Not a big deal, but something to know; a sturdier table would be better, I think. The other mild complaint is that the longest stitch, for gathering, is not all that long. Again, not a big deal. Other than that, I was very pleased with the machine.

(Fwiw, I currently have a lower-end Brother that is heavier but has the same issue with the stitch length. I like it pretty well too. The only reason I didn't go for the CS6000 again is cost. I know people say not to get the machines you can get at big box stores, but honestly, they have served me fine, even if they don't last forever.)