Menu

Anyone familiar with a Guardian Ad Litum?

My BIL and SIL are going through a very, very nasty divorce. My BIL actually left because of the physical abuse his wife was enduring on him. Currently, they have 50/50 custody.(One week on, one week off). She has made his life, along with everyone elses life miserable.

My BIL has decided he has no other choice but to file for full custody. The kids are 11, 9 and 6. He has a stable job that he has been at for about 15 years. Has a place with three bedrooms.

From what I am hearing a GAL is going to be assigned. So I will assume the GAL will speak to both me and my husband, correct?(MY BIL is DH's brother). And we were very close to him and his ex. And unfortunately have been the subject of nasty things from his ex. We are very close with my nices and nephew as well.

What do they ask?

Will they want to speak to my older kids to?

And when the hearing comes around, will we have to tesify in court? I am new to all this.

Some GALs are very thorough. I knew one that spoke to neighbors. I would not think anything is going to be very odd in their questioning, and they may ask open ended questions just to "hear" you. I would try to relax, be honest, be calm, try not to interject emotional opinion. Phrases like "I got the feeling X and Y because of A, B, and C" or "Sometimes it seemed as thought A and B because I noticed M, N and O" are okay as long as they don't dominate what you say. Try to stick with what you know rather than what/how you feel.

I don't think they'll talk to your kids unless they witnesses something bad.

:grouphug: And relax. The GAL work I hear about at work (lots of divorces) seem to be fanatically fair and comes to a good conclusion. I will note that the GALs I deal with professionally are for medical emergencies for incompetent adults, but believe me, I hear all the gory details of every custody fight at work. They are obviously more upsetting to the moms I work with than the divorces.