Menu

Do you use your talents?

Tap

I have been thinking a lot lately about wasted lives. About letting life pass by, and not enjoying what talents we have.

I am a pretty good cook, but get lazy and don't really do my best. I know some short cuts that make dishes that are pretty good, but not quite as good as the homemade original. I find myself using these more and more. It could be as simple as using a jarred spaghetti sauce instead of a homemade one, or buying a premix of cheese that is close to what I want instead of making my own blend.

I have decided to start trying more, and doing better in this arena. Today I spent 1.5 hours making a lasagna. It was the best one I ever made :) It was definitely worth the effort. LOL

So, this leads me to wonder....what is your talent and do you use it?

I can sew fairly well... I recently made curtain swags for my bedroom. I am making a lap quilt for my mom for Christmas (I didn't piece the top together myself, just layered, tied and am doing the binding.) I used to make baby items.

I like to do an assortment of hand crafts... crochet, needlepoint, cross stitch.

I try lots of different things throughout the year... tole painting, fake flower arrangements, etc.

I wish I liked cooking. I don't. But, I try to have a special meal each week that I put time and effort into. It usually turns out really good! I just don't cooking, so I don't consider it a gift!

I've always had somewhat of a talent for writing. I use it to some extent- for fun, for a creative outlet mostly. I did teach a couple of writing workshops to my daughter and some of her friends. I did have a few articles published in Secular Homeschooling Magazine. But that's about the extent of it so far. Maybe some day I'll do a bit more with it.