Menu

I just spent two hours writing ONLY 288 words for Nanowrimo.

Oh my goodness! I have never done this before. DS11 and DS17 wanted me to do Nanowrimo with them. I happily obliged, because I have always loved to write.

But, I started today with no idea. I FINALLY got a half-decent start. But it took sooooo long! Now, I am not even sure how to continue.

288 words??? Are you kidding. That is 1400 more words needed for today!

Oooo. Did you read, "No Plot, No Problem?"

You need to add lots of descriptions. Describe what people look like, what the road looks like, what the furniture looks like. In insane detail. Just to get the writing juices flowing.

Are you handwriting it or typing it? Be sure you're using whichever writing is best for you (I prefer typing, but not everyone does.)

Add something ridiculous to the story: Impish's flying monkeys for example.

My story was about someone who went through a hole in a wall to another world. At the beginning of each chapter, I had a paragraph of a journal entry from the daily life of a character in the other world. Like, "Lost the keys to the storage cellar today. Mother was displeased and now the servants are smirking at me. How will I ever take over running the household if I can't gain the respect of the servants?" These journal entries added nothing to the plot: only added words and the "flavor" of the other world.

Make each chapter heading a nice long heading, like, "Chapter 1, in which Elizabeth goes through the wall and finds that she's not in Kansas anymore."

Oh--and make sure that characters have multiple names. Not Elizabeth, but Elizabeth Ann of the Bright Blue Eyes.

No hyphens, even if the word is supposed to have hyphens.

I only got 372 this morning. Fiction is NOT my thing, so I'm trying to lower my expectations. I'm also figuring I'll eventually get caught up in the story and more words (for better or for worse, lol) will start pouring out.