Menu

Has the courting fad fading out or is it still strong?

We are long time homeschoolers since I have been homeschooling since 1994. Anyway, I used to hear lots about courtship in the homeschooling community. I haven't seen or heard anything about it in recent years. We were never into that because it simply wasn't practical for our lives. We are military and move around too much and our children don't usually go to college where we live. ANyway, I am curious. Has this movement faded or is it just not gettting much attention in the circles I move in?

I didn't learn that courting was a current idea until I became a member of this board about 6 or 7 years ago. This board and the Sonlight boards are the only 2 places I've ever seen it mentioned. I knew about the idea from books and movies, just not that anyone in our country practiced it. Then again, I didn't know homeschooling was legal or even an option until 2001 when my son was 5.

I hear of it quite a bit in our community. I've discussed it a bit with other homeschooling families. The thing I've taken away from those discussions is that there are degrees of courtship. Some families seem very, for lack of a better term, "legalistic" about it, while other families embrace the idea of courtship, and sort of define their own boundaries.

It's been interesting. And with an "almost 15" year old dd, I need to think about this a lot more

I gained the impression that this is confined to the community of "non-denominational" churches. Never have met anybody in other faith groups who considered this for her family.

Never could determine precisely what my true feelings about this are !

Right now, I'm just giving thanks and glory to God that our eldest, the only one to show any interest in such matters yet, is all-but-engaged to the first young woman whom he ever showed any interest in. So he was spared the dating "racket" with all its temptations.