Menu

Reality vs. Vision

My vision of how this year was supposed to go is not matching up with reality!

Background here: I’m homeschooling my 8th grader due to Covid, most likely only for this school year. I am a teacher and for years I have wanted to homeschool but I needed to teach full time (and my husband has not been on board with homeschooling; although a few years back, I did keep my older son home for a semester and we have always ‘after-schooled,’ kind of always a literacy-focused home, etc). I have followed these boards for years and I love so much about it here....I’ve always said I’m a homeschooler-at-heart. I have learned a lot over the years by reading of the dedication and efforts from all of you. I have great respect and admiration for what I read about here.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I didn’t just jump into this year thinking I could grab a workbook and call it good. I know so much more goes into homeschooling than that. I’ve researched curriculum (one of my hobbies, apparently) and feel really good about the plans I have set in place for the year. My dd is highly capable and at grade level in all of her subjects. She is a good kid and typically pleasant to be with. 

But she is making this all so difficult!

She complains about everything, tries to get out of every assignment. Sometimes she’s in a great mood and I feel this glimmer of hope...and then the next minute she is grumbling and complaining. I’ve tried switching things up (even buying different curriculum trying to find something she will like better), I’ve tried giving her more ownership. She does work well with a checklist and doing things on her own, but if I have to actually teach her, there is bound to be some conflict. (And I should actually be teaching her, right?!?) If we are working together on something (say a timeline project or even doing art), she asks Can we be done yet? Is that all? 

Is this normal? Is it just because she’s 13?