Jump to content

Menu

help me find books like this (non fiction)


ktgrok
 Share

Recommended Posts

DD 9 has dyslexia, and understandably getting her to read for pleasure has been hit and miss. She is also not yet a fan of audiobooks, but we are working on that. Getting her new headphones as an incentive 🙂

Anyway, at the library today she veered into the non-fiction - she had a very particular kind of book she wanted. Turns out she likes non fiction, the kind about say, reptiles or birds or whatever, with lots of real photographs (not drawings) and tidbits of info here and there on the page. So not one big wall of text, but scattered. 

These are the ones she picked out today:

 https://www.amazon.com/National-Geographic-Kids-Everything-Reptiles/dp/1426325266/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=everything+reptiles&qid=1565296668&s=gateway&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com/Everything-Need-Know-About-Birds/dp/1465443886/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=everything+you+need+to+know+about+birds&qid=1565296771&s=gateway&sr=8-1

Any favorites or ideas to take this concept and run with it? Maybe branching out of just animals and into other topics? I'm definitely thinking my idea to use lots of "you wouldn't want to be" and "if you were a" and the Usborne History Encyclopedia rather than Story of the World is the right way to go, but would love to find more "fun" books for her. 

Edited by Ktgrok
Link to comment
Share on other sites

There’s also the Eyewitness series by DK.

For a lower reading level, my ds loved the 100 Facts series.  He started with Arms and Armor and branched out from there (they have both history and science titles).  It looks like only used copies are available on Amazon, but I know there are a bunch on Thriftbook and I’ve seen them at our library too.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you don’t already know, National Geographic Kids has piles and piles of books like the one in your first link, and they all fit this description. Many DK and Usborne nonfiction books fit this category as well. You Wouldn’t Want to Be... books are an excellent choice.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't know if you can get them in the US, but my similar sounding kid - who really liked those national geographic readers - loved Steve Parish (wildlife photographer) readers, like these: https://www.amazon.com/First-Facts-Koalas-Steve-Parish/dp/1740219465/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?keywords=steve+parish+kids&qid=1565958708&s=gateway&sprefix=steve+parish+&sr=8-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My kids like this science series:

I Wonder Why Camels Have Humps: And Other Questions About Animals https://www.amazon.com/dp/0753467011/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_lTbwDb57F60YC

They like this history series:

Step Into: Ancient Greece https://www.amazon.com/dp/1844765105/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_zYbwDb6GXEDMC

and this series of books about home-based science experiments kept my oldest enraptured for hours:

Science Activities (Usborne Science Activities) https://www.amazon.com/dp/0794527523/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_TZbwDbQEJFBG0

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You might see if she likes these (if they have them at the library): Reader's Digest series. 

Also available: How Science Works, How Nature Works, How the Body Works, etc.

https://www.amazon.com/How-Earth-Works/dp/0895774119/ref=sr_1_9?keywords=how+the+earth+works&qid=1566058134&s=gateway&sr=8-9

The Seymour Simon books have lots of beautiful photographs but perhaps more text than you are looking for. 

Depending on her taste for gorey/silly she might like Horrible Science

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

I would get her a subscription to ZooBooks.   They are very much like those books she chose, only sort of like a magazine where each episode features a different animal or type of creature (like sharks, spiders, cheetahs, birds of pray, etc.)    You could also find them used on ebay or something because the ones they print now are basically updated reprints of their older ones...but on the other hand getting a new one every month in the mail might be fun for her.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

Ă—
Ă—
  • Create New...