Menu

Let's talk Latin

sarahmama

It is planning time for my rising 4th grader and I think I am ready to take the plunge with Latin. I have no Latin experience, but he is an eager student who is a highly visual learner. What have you used and loved? Why? What have you used and hated? Why? Thanks!

Getting Started With Latin is my favorite so far.  It's cheap, non-threatening, and gives kids a confidence boost before plunging in to something more robust.
Latin's Not So Tough was a pretty great introduction, too, but after a while I didn't feel as comfortable teaching because the books are written to the student, but not as clear as they could be after about book 3 or 4.
First Form Latin was...okay after GSWL.  I don't like how workbooky it is.  My kid learned a LOT, but...he's not as fond of the subject when he's using FFL.  It would be a definite deep-end jump into the Latin pool if you start from nothing.  I decided to go a new direction and back up again next year to Latin For Children A.  He liked the activity book for it when I added it to FFL, so we're going to do it fully for a while and let him decide to go to B or return to the Forms.
And last, Cambridge - this is neither love or hate, but my kid enjoyed it A LOT.  He had the vocabulary down well after GSWL and loved reading through the pages because it's more of an immersion method.  I mostly let him just read the picture stories and short paragraph stories without doing any written work for it.

• Like 3

After GSWL we moved easily into the Big Book of Lively Latin and on into the 2nd book. In addition to the vocab and grammar there is a nice review of Roman history over the course of the two books. After that we move from Latin into living languages. 

We have a love/hate relationship with Latin for Children and Latin Alive here.