Menu

Homeschooling violin

Has anyone here done this? DS (8) is interested in learning (Celtic fiddle in particular), and I can't really afford lessons for him. Could I get him fitted with a suitable instrument and teach him myself?

I'm fairly proficient at 'cello and a self-taught violinist. My biggest concern is that my violin technique probably isn't all that great, and I don't want to pass on any bad habits.

Thoughts, ideas, resources are all welcome!

You may be able to teach him basics.  There are enough youtube videos to help with position and technique, and little kid books (ds8 used the Violin Fun Book) have pictures of how to hold the bow.  When he has trouble with technique his teacher shows him video links.  Emedia has a violin starter set for $80-200 (depending on size) that comes with a cd of video lessons if you wanted to go that route.

• Like 1

You'd probably do no worse than Broccoli's violin teacher.  :banghead: