Menu

Puberty and emotions -- boy edition

Janie Grace

My dd has gone through puberty and is well on the other side... deep sigh of relief. But now I am dealing with this transition with a son and I have NO experience, not being male myself or having had brothers. He is 15 but he is a late bloomer. He doesn't have facial hair yet, his voice hasn't changed, and he has yet to have a growth spurt. But he is getting hair elsewhere and some acne... it just feels like we are on the verge of big changes. The thing I was input on is his MOODS. He is driving me crazy. Everything he says seems loud and annoyed/irritated/condescending/contradictory. If he is around, I'm on edge. And the thing that's weird is that I LOVE this kid. He's funny and capable and affectionate. But right now he is just so annoying. 

He has one younger brother whom he seems to despise. :( This brother (age 9) is competitive and emotional, and these two boys just butt heads CONSTANTLY. Older ds can be a bully and younger ds can instigate and then play innocent. It is driving me crazy and it is hard not to feel like it's at least 75% the older son's fault.

He struggles socially at school, too... my dd tells me people think he's annoying; he doesn't respect the upperclassmen as he should (overly familiar) and he doesn't have anyone he gets together with outside of school. He is a smart, athletic, good-looking kid but he is immature compared to all of his age-mates and I feel like he doesn't do himself any favors. Dh is hard on him (I think), maaybe because he is the oldest son and maybe because ds is very smart but can be lazy, and this bugs dh. They also have opposite personalities (dh is easy-going and ds is very structured, type A) so that adds to it.

I guess I am wondering, is all of this normal? Should I be worried about any of these elements? Does this sound like a typical about-to-enter-manhood stuff and if so, how do we survive without killing him? I kid... but really. It's hard.