Menu

what to do

So I've been homeschooling my two kids for 2 years now. They are 9 and 8. Every single time we sit down to do school work they complain. We don't do much, we are boardline unschooling at this point. they each do math for about 20-30 minutes with me, never independently because they wont do it if im not sitting there with them. They also each do WWE and my youngest does ETC and my oldest does cursive with HWT. Both also have the CTGE books but hate those books so much they shriek and hide when I bring them out! Collectively they probably do about an hour of work each on the days we do school work. There are days we take off because I work full time, mostly nights and weekends, but sometimes my work schedule makes it so they spend the day with my mom so I can work during daytime hours.

I have told them over and over that homeschooling cannot work if they dont stop complaining and put forth some effort. I sacrifice a lot to do this, I'm working fulltime and all my extra time goes into giving them this. It is beyond frustrating to hear them whine everyday and half ass their way through a lesson and obtain nothing from it.

My son was just tested because I thought his extreme resistance to anything school work related might be a learning disability. Nope, nothing was found. He scored well below his grade level but the results came back with no signs of a learning disability. So he's behind his peers, so what I'm not too worried about grade level, isnt that the beauty of HSing? kids get to learn at their pace, right? BUT what if they dont even want to learn? what if they pitch a fit every time you declare it "school time" and ask them to sit for 30 minutes and learn how to add!