Menu

Rinse Aid

carriede

We just bought a new dishwasher, and I want to make sure I'm using it properly for longevity's sake.

So I know that rinse aid is supposed to help the water run off the dishes and not leave spots. But does rinse aid serve any purpose for the dishwasher itself?

I've never used rinse aid in my old diahwasher... I didn't care about a few water spots. Just want to make sure I'm getting my moneys worth out of my new machine!

I deliberately choose not to use it since I am concerned that it may leave a chemical residue but I am by no means an expert on this. I just pull the door open when the cycle is done so that the dishes dry well since in my simple understanding the rinse agent helps the dishes dry well in dishwashers with no heating element for drying dishes.

• Like 1

I carefully used the rinse aid for about 2 bottles worth. But I noticed the bottle said it had way more washes than it did in reality. So I decided it was too expensive if I had to refill it way more often than advertised. I don't use it and don't notice a problem (other than the wash/dry cycle is about 20 minutes longer).

• Like 1

I use plain citric acid. It keeps the dishwasher really clean, too. You can buy Lemishine brand at Target, but I just bit bulk on Amazon.

So do you do this with every load or just once in a while? And if with every load, where do you put it? I don't see the powder going into my rinse dispenser.

Thanks

I carefully used the rinse aid for about 2 bottles worth. But I noticed the bottle said it had way more washes than it did in reality. So I decided it was too expensive if I had to refill it way more often than advertised. I don't use it and don't notice a problem (other than the wash/dry cycle is about 20 minutes longer).