Menu

Need help, advice, group hug (or all of the above)

Hi y'all--

I may need y'all to talk me off of the proverbial ledge. 

I'm in my first year of homeschooling (DS10, DS8, and DD6 -- they were previously in public school).  My DH, who is very supportive, tells me to give myself grace; this is my first year -- it's going to be difficult.  While that's reassuring, it doesn't help solve some of the problems that we're facing on a daily basis.

My kids are good kids; they never had behavior problems in PS and they are generally well behaved, obedient kids (they have their moments of course).  I'll do my best to narrow down the problems.

Problem #1  DS10 is HIGHLY distractable (starts daydreaming, picking at his nails, looking out the window, etc).  It took him 3 HOURS to finish his Saxon 6/5 math yesterday.  NOT because it was too hard for him.  But because he didn't buckle down and just get it done.  Math tends to be where we see the most distractability.  But it can happen with spelling, or handwriting, or anything else DS doesn't seem to want to do.  His teachers, ever since kindergarten, have noticed this too and have commented on how long it takes him to do work.  He is an intelligent kid, but he "checks out" quite a bit during school.  But get him playing Minecraft and he can concentrate for HOURS.