Menu

I am tired of monosyllabic answers! getting ds to talk - or should I toughen up?

Warning: vent ahead

"Good," "fine," "okay," "nothing," "I don't know," "I'm not sure." These are the answers I get from 14-year-old ds. I want him to share information about his life with me! I don't expect a lot, and I am not trying to pry. I get so frustrated when he is so unwilling to open up about anything! He is pleasant enough, but not open. I want him to open up about little things so that when there are big things he will feel comfortable coming to me (or his dad) and talking! I try to ask open-ended questions, but that doesn't go anywhere either. I don't want him to feel like he is being cross-examined (I am a lawyer), but, honestly, it hurts my feelings that he won't open up much. He isn't like this ALL the time, but probably 75% of the time.

Am I being a baby b/c this hurts my feelings. I want him to volunteer information - just give a few details. Share something of his day with me. Should I not let this hurt my feelings? Sometimes I feel like giving it right back to him (not very mature, I realize). But, I get so tired of trying to be pleasant and interested in his life only to be shut out.

Thanks for "listening."

With my 13 (14 at the end of this month) yr old son I find that I do better to just sit down and start chatting about nothing, showing an interest in whatever he's doing, writing him goofy notes during school, etc.

If I ask a question, whether open ended or not, he reverts to monosyllabic answers as well. If I comment on the latest cartoon he's drawing, or the nintendo game he's playing, or ask him to explain the game to me, or otherwise show interest in what he's engaged in at that moment, he will sometimes not notice if I then morph over to asking other things and we have actual conversations.