Menu

Homeschooling isn't for everyone

I've been thinking a lot about this assertion. It seems to me (and I invite disagreement here, as I'm still learning and would learn from another perspective!) that the research is very solid in favor of homeschooling.

I also understand the assertion that homeschooling isn't for everyone - mostly because not everyone has the time (some parents have to work full time) and not everyone has the desire.

However, today something occurred to me. Did you know that the average per-pupil cost for public schooling is nearly $10,000? The average teacher makes a little over $50,000.

Many homeschoolers homeschool five or six children. What if families that couldn't or didn't want to homeschool had the option to send their child to a personal tutor who would tutor no more than five-six children at once, and would do so for years (so the tutor wouldn't just be a teacher for one year, but would follow the child through his childhood, as long as the parents are satisfied with the work of the tutor).

What if we had a voucher system that allowed parents to put the money that would go to public schools toward this "personal tutor," which would be as close to homeschooling as you can get without having the child's family doing the teaching?

The tutor would thus earn what he or she earns teaching public school, but the job description would be different. Essentially, the tutor's job would be to do what homeschooling parents during the "school" portion of the day. Parents who like unschooling could send their child to an unschooling tutor. Parents who want their child to be taught formally throught the classics could find a tutor with that teaching style.

Of course, parents who can homeschool themselves could - and could even invite other students to join them if they have capacity - but parents who couldn't would have the option of using voucher money to hire a tutor.