Menu

What classes do you use "Pass/Fail" for?

I've only used pass/fail for PE.

My daughter did a semester of health in 9th grade, and has a letter grade assigned. We don't include SAT/ACT prep on the transcript.

The SAT Prep was an actual course I designed and it is also offered at the local high school as a class so I added it.

Thanks!

I was thinking of using Pass/Fail on my transcript in a few of my classes.

Gym, SAT Prep, & Health.

Health could be graded, but it was also just a "check the box" subject.

What subjects do you use Pass/Fail for?

I have used it for PE, art history, music appreciation, and French. PE b/c I didn't want it to be included in their gpa and the others b/c they are really outside my ability to evaluate effectively. For example, I gave my oldest a C in Spanish 1 and when he took Spanish 2, he had the highest grade in the class. Obviously I am not good at evaluating appropriate foreign languages skills. :tongue_smilie:

I was thinking of using Pass/Fail on my transcript in a few of my classes.

Gym, SAT Prep, & Health.

Health could be graded, but it was also just a "check the box" subject.

What subjects do you use Pass/Fail for?

We did not use Pass/Fail. I put a grade on everything on the transcript. (Not the "right" way -- just how we did it.) For gym, I labelled my ds's class: "Elective: Physical Education - Year Round Swim Team" so that schools could see a level of rig . . . uh, effort ;) that I felt "deserved" a grade. As long as you have enough other graded credits, I don't think it will matter whether you give gym/health/SAT prep a grade or treat them as pass/fail. :) Also Health and PE are sometimes combined into one credit.

I didn't use Pass/Fail. On my daughter's transcript, I had the note: "P indicates participation in a class in which a letter grade was not provided."