Menu

Your favorite spelling program

sunshine

I can't find a good spelling program. Has anyone ever used the Grammar of Spelling by Logos Press? Does it work and do your kids like doing it?

What spelling program have you used that you would swear by. My girls are not doing that great in spelling. They are 2nd and 5th this year.

I'm a newbie doing All About Spelling with my 1st grader. We like it. I can customize it to her (she can write the words instead of "building" them with tiles, etc), and it seems to be building a really good foundation. We zoom through certain lessons, and slow down where needed. She'll likely be done with the first book by end of Oct, and then move on to the 2nd.

I would think it'd be a good one to remediate with.

For struggling spellers, I like "Spelling Plus" since it teaches rules and focuses on the most frequent 1,000 words. It is for up to 6th grade, so you could use it for both. It has a companion book called "Spelling Dictation" if you want sentences that use the words. (Not literary masterpieces, but they jam a lot of the words in per sentence!)

We love Sequential Spelling. It has been a HUGE hit in our house. I think I'm the one person on this board who absolutely hated All About Spelling, which is what we used last year.

:iagree: You could use it for both of your kids at the same time. Very easy, and it sticks. It did wonders for my "not-so-great" speller. Everyone starts in book 1 and progresses from there, no matter the age. We used a white-board for our daily "tests" and the kids loved it. They improved dramatically after just the first week.

Rod & Staff spelling is very good. I used it for many years with several children. However, it wasn't a good fit for my son and I preferred to use something secular. Soaring with Spelling has worked very well for him. And I like it because the student does most of the work independently. It is very easy to implement and doesn't take much time. And my kids are learning how to spell.