Menu

easy cooking ideas needed

ProudGrandma

I am a librarian and I meet with 3 different groups of special needs students every month.  Each group is a different age and ability.  When we meet, I usually like doing a craft and some sort of food related thing.  I want try to stay away from too many sweets  (although it seems sort of difficult) and currently there are no food allergies to deal with. 

What I have found that works the best is recipes where they can each make their own snack....rather than one big something (in a 9 x 13 pan sort of thing). 

So far we have made things like homemade pop tarts, apple bombs (apple pie filling inside a grands biscuit), flour tortilla shells cut like snowflakes, with butter, sugar and cinnamon on top, baked in oven.  air fryer donuts, grilled cheese roll ups, garlic bread snowmen, fruit and mini pancake kabobs...those types of things. 

I have access to a full kitchen.   

I can do different things with different groups.  The ability of the groups is:  1) grades 1-6 (ability 3rd grade and under) 2) bio age of students is 12-21 (ability is 7-8 year olds) and 3) same bio age as group 2, but ability is more like 9-10 year olds....maybe a bit older).  So one tricky thing is finding things that are easy, but don't appear babyish for that last group for sure. 

If you guys have any ideas for me, that would be great.  I do have a budget to work with too....but I am fairly open to exploring all options. 

Make your own pizza on whole wheat naan crust, quesadilla, and grilled cheese have gone over well. 

One thing that has also gone over well for me has been to bring lunch stuff, and then have kids write down or fill out a checklist of what they want, and then make each other’s sack lunches.  So we have a chance to work on all those communication skills too. 

Edited by BandH
because I can't spell
  • Like 4

English muffin pizzas
Egg "Muffins" - Eggs, a bit of milk, Toppings, and Cheese mixed up in muffin tins and baked