Menu

Help with ideas for math

Momx42012

Hi, I believe this is my first time posting here, but I’ve been reading the great information and opinions for over a year. 

I would love some opinions on what could be a good fit for my DS5 for math. We are almost halfway in Subtraction Facts that Stick and he has completed Addition Facts that Stick. I can’t say enough good things about these books in regards to how well they have worked out for us. However, I’m looking ahead (just a little - as I’d be open to starting a curriculum soon) to what math curriculum we should go about getting for us to step into next. 

My older DS7 just completed Math Mammoth 1 and we’ll be sticking with that. He has no issues with it and I like it. He picks up on things pretty quickly and has no issues sitting still and getting workbook pages finished and grasping the concept. Now, with my DS5 he is very different than his brother. He fidgets a TON. I mean, to be expected somewhat for a 5 year old, but definitely still more so than I was used to with my older son. Also in general, concepts take a while longer for him to understand. He has a more difficult time staying focused in comparison to my DS7. 

I guess I’m looking for opinions from someone who has had very different children and if the same math program has worked for both of them. In my head I feel like MM might not be a great fit because visualizing the ten frame and using an abacus has definitely helped my DS5 grasp and understand addition and subtraction, where my older son who isn’t much in manipulative, thrives with MM. Does something like Right Start or Math U See seem like it would be a better fit for his learning style? Someone in my local sale group was selling Right Start A and B for a $100 and I heard that is a good deal. I was tempted to get it and try it out with him - if it’s even still available.