Menu

Could you recommend an online course to explore MIS as a major?

My dd would like to use her month off her college classes to try out some MOOCs or other self-taught options to explore possible majors. What would you recommend to get a taste of Management Information Systems? A regular AP programming class? (She has taken a high school level intro to Python, but she's doesn't program for fun.) Web design? Intro to databases? 

She doesn't need any credit and I'd prefer something free or very cheap since she may not finish the class. 

• Like 1

I suggest looking on Coursera at their MOOC courses. Look at the most popular ones. In the emails they send to me, about the most popular ones (Python, etc.) there are some really top notch universities offering those courses. UMichigan, Duke, etc.

I believe they have introductory level courses that may be of interest to your DD.

With regard to your other thread, I would not encourage her to spend time and $ going after some kind of  Certification, unless and until she knows that is of interest to her.

Note: The only possible issue for your DD with her limited time available, might be the Starting Date of the MOOC course. I think some of them begin weekly or monthly, but am not sure.

• Thanks 1

Java and Python are Scripting languages?  Python is apparently enormously popular now.  C+ or C++ is closer to the C language, which I had some experience with, MANY years ago. However, those are Programming Languages.

If I get the drift of your original question, your DD might be interested in a Major involving IT or something in that area. There are SO many different Majors now. Data Scientists. All kinds of titles that didn't exist in the days when I was doing Assembly Language programming, on bare metal.