Menu

When to Stop Latin

When is it time to allow your kids to stop learning Latin?  My 8th grader is good at it, but HATES it with a passion.  He asks repeatedly if he can quit and I always say no, but I am now considering letting him because with our very busy schedule, we aren't getting to everything, and something needs to go.   He will have to study Latin and Greek roots with Vocab from Classical Roots if I let Latin go.

@RubyPenn How far did he get in Latin? What were your goals when you started him in Latin? Has he achieved them?

I studied French and found the vocab was very similar when I started learning Latin with my kids. My dd#1 has found she's got a great grammar base in German (which is helpful) because of her Latin. In both of our cases (Latin pun!), it wasn't important for us to be able to translate Virgil.

• Like 1

My Latin hater switched to Spanish once he reached high school.  I almost let him jump ship to Spanish in 8th grade, but I chose to let him have that year to consolidate his English grammar before high school.  It was a good choice for that kid at that time.  The fight to do Latin or else was not worth it for him.  We had other battles that were taking up our time. 😉 

• Like 3

1 hour ago, RootAnn said:

@RubyPenn How far did he get in Latin? What were your goals when you started him in Latin? Has he achieved them?

I studied French and found the vocab was very similar when I started learning Latin with my kids. My dd#1 has found she's got a great grammar base in German (which is helpful) because of her Latin. In both of our cases (Latin pun!), it wasn't important for us to be able to translate Virgil.

He did Prima Latin in 3rd, then just vocab from 4th-6th.  I read Climbing Parnassus and was convinced he should actually learn the language, so last year he did most of Memoria Press's First Form.  We detoured into Latin Alive this year, but ended up back in First Form, which he just finished.