Menu

Timing getting another dog

ktgrok

Looking for some BTDT or other advice. 

We currently have an 11 year old mixed breed...she's definitely pit bull, and looks to be some shepherd and lab. She is in the early stages of arthritis, so we are trying to minimize her jumping off and on furniture, giving supplements, meds, etc but reality is, I won't have her suffer so I don't expect her to make it to say, 15 or anything. 

We also have a 6 year old border collie rescue, who was brain damaged as a puppy. He's very sweet, but very very very um...slow. Like, I was a professional dog trainer and teaching him to sit, which usually takes me about 5 minutes, took 2 weeks. He one broke his foot in three places misjudging how to get out the back door. Sometimes he gets stuck under furniture. Sweet dog, easy dog for the most part because well, he can't think of much trouble to get into. 

The thought was, at some point we'll lose the older one, and get another at that time. Because honestly, the border collie can't manage as an only dog. For instance, he won't go potty by himself, he needs his "buddy', the other dog, or he just stands outside and looks confused and barks. If the other dog goes out he runs out with her and does his business. 

However, we had a puppy over yesterday, (friend had a new dog) and I realized something. The older dog is well socialized and has very good doggy manners. She has great calming skills, gives clear doggy body language, etc. She was a bit bossy in a "this is my house and you'd better acknowledge that" kind of way with the other dog (standing tall, tail up, etc) but VERY sweet and gentle with the puppy, and they played and had fun. 

My border collie? Had NO idea what to do with the playful puppy, and stood there staring at the humans like "what is going on??" and pretty much ignored it. He wasn't upset, just confused.