Menu

Preparing a young teen for college classes

Dd13 announced this past week that she wants to start college at 15. She's content with staying home and taking classes at the local state university, she just kinda wants to get on with her life. I'm thinking dual enrollment for a few classes will satisfy her for now, we might even try out a class next year if they will take her (usually they don't accept dual enrolled students under 16 but I've heard of some homeschoolers pulling it off). She'd need a good ACT score to convince them she is ready and maybe qualify for their dual enrollment scholarship, so I'm planning to work on that this year.

What would you do to help a child prepare for college classes?

As a professor, I can tell you that early dual enrollment can go either way. I'd start in a class or two in an area of strength and keep an open mind. Some really thrive and some need a little more time at home.  If she thrives in dual enrollment, then certainly you can ramp it up. By no means is it just about the academics.

Remember that college "counts," so it's also OK to bail if it's not time to do that. I know of too many parents who keep their younger ones in a class where they're tanking, and then the poor grade is on their record and their confidence is blown.

The most important skills are taking notes and being able to manage deadlines. She also needs to be able to troubleshoot group project issues. My oldest has had group project drama with every class he's taken with that sort of assignment. He just started physics with a lab and had very clear priorities for picking a lab partner the first day. Some classes have a lot of reading, so she needs to be prepared to read and learn from textbooks and be able to scan effectively.