Menu

Talk to me about McHenry's Carbon Chemistry and The Cell

When did you use these (what grades?)

I have never used The Cell.  I used The Elements and Carbon Chemistry this year (7th grade).

What did you like about them - if you did?

I liked that the programs were thorough and very in-depth.  They allow a middle schooler to learn some serious chemistry without having the math background.  In addition, some (not all) of the units have very good demonstrations/experiments, which you don't generally find in a home-brewed-type science lab.  Third, DD loves McHenry's style - she gets the point across without being dull or preachy, and really holds the student's interest.  I'm extremely impressed with her work, and because I am a trained scientist, I am very picky about science.  Fourth, she has a terrific balance between the background theory of what she is trying to teach and experiments/demos; the experiments really support the lesson.

What did you dislike about them/what made you quit them?

I didn't quit the books; we finished The Elements in December and will be wrapping up Carbon Chemistry by June.  The one thing I wasn't all that crazy about are some of the games she has as part of the lab exercises.  I get the games - they are a cost-effective way of reinforcing the lessons.  But although the games are cleverly done, I am not into games and we don't use most of them.  We opt for other lab exercises.

If you used them both, is there an ideal order? Does one logically precede the other?

Although I haven't done The Cell, I don't imagine the order of The Cell and Carbon Chemistry matters.  However, I think it would be best if a student has completed The Elements before Carbon Chemistry.  Carbon Chemistry can be a handful if you really get into it.

• Like 3