Menu

Math Curricula for 1st??? My Boys Learned Almost Nothing this Year! :-(

NightOwlMama

We're trying CC for the first time this year and they suggested Saxon but I keep hearing that it's a program that makes you hate Math. I'm not good at Math myself so I need something that is really easy to teach. My almost 6 and 7 yr old did Singapore K this year and it bombed for us:-/ I need suggestions ASAP! Here are a few I'm wondering about...

Saxon

Math Mammoth

Life of Fred

HELP! :-D

You do not have to use CC's suggestions until they enter into Challenge and even then families have worked around using Saxon. But Saxon is very different when it gets into the middle grades.

I think you might want to look at Christian Light Education if Singapore was a bomb. I use it until my kids are ready for Saxon 76.

Life of Fred isn't a complete curriculum at that age. It's more of a supplement.

Rod & Staff is a good deal of memorizing facts and how to do the math without much of the "why", but the teacher notes are good and explain most things thoroughly.

I personally prefer Math Mammoth, there are more mental math strategies and mathematical thinking encouraged, but you do need to be comfortable explaining concepts in a different way than it's presented in the worktext if your child doesn't understand that explanation. But then, it's first grade math, which mostly deals with addition and subtraction and basic geometry. You're not getting into fractions and vectors and graphing equations at this age, and you can learn along with your kids.

We love Math Mammoth here. We tried Saxon but ds didn't enjoy it and Singapore was a bomb because of how it was presented. When we switched to MM it was like a light bulb turned on over ds' head and math became much more enjoyable. He was always good at math he just hated to do the work. Now he doesn't have an issue doing the work and is understanding the concepts much better instead of just being able to work the problems.