Menu

Co-ops...I'm scared

I'm brand new to homeschooling, and I haven't had the courage to join a co-op yet. I am so afraid of the constant comparisons. I also know that while she is extremely bright, DD13 has a VERY hard time in social situations, so I don't want to fail on our first attempt.

Have any of you had luck with a co-op? Are you with a special needs group or NT kids? Is it worth the time and money?? HELP!! :confused:

My two with learning challenges do not have spectrum diagnoses, but they have had some social challenges. We have very successfully participated in a homeschool co-op for over 10 years. There is more than one co-op in town. I specifically have continued with the one we are in because there is a good balance between academic and enrichment classes. My younger two children have done best with enrichment classes. I tried the academic ones but the compressed time schedule (doing a full year's curriculum over 24 or 28 weeks) didn't work for my son.

We have had a number of kids in our co-op who are dyslexic, "mildly" on the spectrum, or just plain quirky without a specified diagnosis. In ours, there tends to be much more acceptance of variation in ability and social savvy than in the local schools. We've had a small handful of more moderately impaired SN students, but it becomes harder to accommodate their needs as they get older. Respect and understanding is good, but the fit for the programs becomes difficult as the gap in skills grows wider.

I love our co-op. I teach a Shakespeare class to 12+ kids. It is all reading outloud. One student has dyslexia. He struggles with reading aloud, the other kids are great. When he skips a line they gently say, oops and someone gets him back on track. Everyone ignores minor mistakes and he laughs at his big mistakes. They are all great friends and we have a lot of fun.