Menu

Gardening ?...Those who garden in cold climates, I need help.

We currently live in Sunset zone 6, but dh is considering a transfer to a town in a zone 1A. Gardening is my favorite hobby and it's what I have a degree in(Hort.). When I think about the challenges of gardening, what I can and can't do/grow in a zone 1A, it's really depressing. I don't so much care about the ornamental aspect of it as there are still plenty of options (just different than here), but the veggie/fruit crops are what I am sad about the most.:crying: I am sure we would have to build a greenhouse, but it almost seems cost prohibitive to heat in that climate.

Can any of you direct me to your favorite blogs of people in these areas or give encouragement on this matter. I know there are gardeners having a great time doing what they do in this zone, I just need to hear that it isn't as depressing as it sounds. And for what it's worth, I don't mind a challenge...I just want to know it's not hopeless.

What advise do you have?

He said he couldn't put them outside until mid July, but they grew like crazy in the endless daylight and would reach the roof of the house. When frost came he took the plants inside and hung them upside down in his garage--he said he got tomatoes through October.

Pretty much everything has to be started inside and many years, will have to be covered repeatly at night. We've had summers that the longest we've gone between HARD freezes was 6 days. The upside: no bugs in the broccoli!

Contact the Master Gardeners in the area you are looking at. You'll find them at the Extension Office under county gov't.

eta: we're zone 2-3.

I hadn't thought about the night time temps and having to cover up, but I bet it would be a key part of success. Thanks for the reminder. I did already go to the extension website for that county, and there isn't a Master Gardeners club for that area. In fact there isn't much info at all at the extension website, which is why I came here.