Menu

Do you cringe when you read your old diaries/journals and yearbook messages?

I have kept a journal since I graduated from high school. I used to write quite a bit, but the last couple of years I haven't written much anymore, since I have been writing a homeschool week-in-review each week (which includes much more than what we do for school). I occasionally look back in my journals to remember things about the children that might be helpful (like milestones, etc) but when I'm reading, I get this urge to put my new paper shredder to work. So much of what I wrote was related to unimportant things (like the type of cloth diapers I was going to spend too much money on...). Several times I complained about something dh did or said. And back when I used to work outside the home, I spent several months complaining about my job. I feel like I'm a totally different person than I was even a couple of years ago. I guess that's what life is supposed to be- constant growth. But I admit, if something were to happen to me, I don't want other people reading all these journals.

As for yearbooks, it's kind of weird to read the messages where my high school boyfriend wrote that he loved me. There's really only one person from high school that I still talk to, so the messages from everyone else don't really mean anything anymore. Would it be crazy to cut out the pictures that I'm in and toss the rest?

Can anyone relate to this, or am I just crazy? :tongue_smilie:

ETA: I'm doing it- the journals are being shredded! I'm taking a break right now because the shredder shut off to keep from overheating. In a few minutes I'll get back to work. I know that this is the right decision for me. All of the important stuff (like birth stories) is written elsewhere anyway.

Edited by lotsofpumpkins