Menu

Let's talk about phonics

Satori

Okay, so I'm a bit of a perfectionist and love to research/understand things. I'm new at homeschooling and chose OPG as our reading program for my dd4 and it's going well. A month ago I learned that there was (is) a trend of whole word/language and I was alarmed, but then I read "Why Johnny Can't Read" and got "ABCs and All Their Tricks" and came to the conclusion that phonics is indeed the way to go as I originally thought.

I am just learning that there are varying levels of phonics, from pure phonics to programs that introduce a few sight words. Without discussing reading programs that include NO phonics, I was hoping to get a discussion going on what's out there, what you all like, in terms of various phonics programs and how "pure" they are.

Geraldine E. Rodgers, in her book, "History of Beginning Reading," came up with a great scale to describe exactly what you are talking about. She ranks methods on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being 100% pure phonics, and 1 being 100% whole word methods.

I have a graph on my History of Reading Instruction page that shows how overall reading instruction in the U.S. has trended for the last several hundred years.

Programs that I have seen that I would give a 10 are PP, OPG, Right Track Reading, School Phonics, almost any OG program (some things that claim to be OG really aren't, but any OG program that is based on true OG principles will get a 10.)

I have only fleetingly seen Sing, Spell, Read, Write, but Geraldine E. Rodgers gave it a 10.

Webster's Speller is also a 10, but it teaches even more than most phonics programs, it extends to teaching phonics for thousands of multi-syllable words, most programs teach only a few multi-syllable words. (But mine goes up to 11! Actually, I'd give it a 15, I like it that much.)