Menu

Favorite latin program for 3rd grade

dcjlkplus3

Lively Latin.

It's fun. We're all learning Latin. It has adequate practice. (I don't have any prior Latin.) Minimal prep time for me-I have the downloaded version so my only prep is printing the next lesson. We also like that it's secular, and includes some history, and also includes online vocabulary games and audio.

Well, I have no experience with any other Latin programs, so there's nothing to compare it to, but we're using Getting Started with Latin this year and we're really enjoying it. My daughter has learned SO much! It's easy to use and very inexpensive too. Bonus, it works really well with FLL3 as far as grammar is concerned.

We have had GREAT sucess with Memoria Press (first Prima Latina & then Latina Christiana books 1 & 2). I would highly recommend using the DVDs. A 3rd grader could start w/ Latina Christiana book 1.

Oh, we also use Ludere Latin as supplement for Latiana Christiana- it has games for each lesson. This helped cement the lessons in the kiddo's heads.

We have had GREAT sucess with Memoria Press (first Prima Latina & then Latina Christiana books 1 & 2). I would highly recommend using the DVDs. A 3rd grader could start w/ Latina Christiana book 1.

Oh, we also use Ludere Latin as supplement for Latiana Christiana- it has games for each lesson. This helped cement the lessons in the kiddo's heads.

We have 0 latin knowledge at our house - do you really think we would be okay to start with Latina Christiana?

I tend to lean towards this one because it was recommended in TWTM, but I don't know anyone who is actually using it.

How often do you use it?

Can you tell me what your lessons look like?