Menu

Geometry Help

DD is currently in 8th grade and working through Saxon Algebra I. I'm starting to plan for next year. I know we can move on to Saxon Algebra II and then Advanced Mathematics, but I'm not yet convinced we want to go down that path. She's doing pretty well with Saxon, but I'm just looking at all of my options before we make a final decision.

I will most likely be teaching her at home (not outsourcing). I have a math degree, but Geometry is my least favorite and it's been a while since I've done it. One of the curriculums I'm considering is Geometry by Ray C. Jurgensen. I've been through the pinned threads and tried to gather as much info as possible, but I want to make sure I understand what I need. It looks like there's a student textbook, a solution manual, some sort of teacher's manual. I also located a link to some helpful youtube videos that line up with the lessons. Looking online, the only thing that seems to be hard to find is the teacher manual. Is it necessary? Is there any sort of syllabus or schedule available out there somewhere?

I've also looked a little at Holt Geometry, but not as much. I found a student textbook and teacher manual, but I'm not sure if there's any other materials needed. I haven't found any online videos. I know Jann in TX teaches a class online, but again I think I'd like to teach DD myself. How does Holt compare to Jurgensen?

DD likes the textbook style of Saxon (vs. videos like Derek Owens, which she has taken in the past). The youtube videos are nice, though, just in case I need to reference something. Are there any other curriculums I should be considering? Thanks!

1 hour ago, Vintage81 said: